Working Since 29+ Years 0755- 2777666, 2772233,
Trusted By
10,20,000+ People
Best Hospital
Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
Open 24 hours
Services & Facilities

How Many Countries in the Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement is a landmark agreement on climate change, signed by 195 countries in 2015. Its main goal is to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels, with an aspirational target of 1.5 degrees Celsius.

But how many countries are actually part of the Paris Agreement? The answer is 189, as of October 2021.

This means that almost every country in the world has pledged to take action on climate change and reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. The only countries not part of the agreement are Iran, Iraq, Libya, South Sudan, and Eritrea, which have not yet ratified the agreement.

The Paris Agreement is a legally binding treaty, which means that countries that have ratified it are obligated to take action to reduce their emissions and report their progress regularly. Each country sets its own targets, called nationally determined contributions (NDCs), based on their individual circumstances and capabilities.

The Paris Agreement also includes a framework for international cooperation and financial support, to help countries transition to a low-carbon economy and adapt to the impacts of climate change.

In summary, the Paris Agreement is a globally significant effort to address the urgent threat of climate change. Its success depends on the participation and commitment of all countries, and it represents a crucial step towards a more sustainable and resilient future for everyone on the planet.

Related Posts